Help for the Homeschooling Hero – Week #9 – Letting Go of Sin!

\

“It was for freedom that Christ set us free; therefore keep standing firm and do not be subject to a yoke of slavery.” Galatians 5:1

Help for the Hero

In the past, I often experienced God as a strict father who did not understand, sympathize, or forgive my desires for pleasure and sin.  Thankfully, since I have been a Christian for a number of years, I recognize the above truth in Galatians.  God does not give us reminders to avoid sin because He is a killjoy, or a boring old fogey without any sympathy for our desires, but because He knows those things will only afford us momentary pleasures, worse, will rob us of all true joy.  When I came to the faith as a teenager, it was because, despite all of the worldly pleasures I was indulging in, there was a void inside of me that was very painful.  I tried to fill that emptiness with many unhealthy things that left me bankrupt, or to use biblical language, keeping me under the yoke of slavery Paul refers to in our weekly passage.

This week, spend a few moments reflecting on your life and what it might be like if you were not a Christian.  I shudder when I think of mine.  I don’t want to go back to that enslaved life and I don’t want my children to indulge in that either, since I know the broken road, and the heavy burdens, all too well.

Can you even imagine a homeschool hero trying to do all of her tasks with a yoke or weight on her back?  This is ludicrous, since we’re flying through the day, quite literally sometimes.  This is good most of the time, since we are called to be busy for Christ.  However, when we are under the weight of our sins, we really limit ourselves and our ability to soar for Him.

Today, let’s rejoice in our heritage in Christ, and walk in His Light, instead of awakening the haunted life of the past by indulging in the sins we have put away. I also want to place emphasis on putting this week’s verse in a prominent place this week.  You may even want to draw a weight on it, so you can remember the heaviness of sin, which we often mistakenly imagine will lighten our load.   This image may help you to remember the reason behind God’s command.  God wants the best for you and Himself.  Your sins are robbing you of your freedom to be the mother and wife God wants you to be.  They are making you less physically healthy, more tired, less satisfied in your marriage, more worried, less joyful, and certainly less prepared to meet your Maker.  Let’s drop the things that hinder, and leave them behind so we can walk confidently toward our Father and without all of the unnecessary baggage! Take courage today, God will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you can bear, but with the temptation, will provide a way out (1st Cor 10:13).

Kids Can Too!!

Kids will point us to Christ like nobody’s business.  Just recently, my daughter asked me why I was wearing so much makeup and told me I don’t need all of that finery, in fact that I look better without all of it.  I know she was right about not getting so fancy for the small gathering we were planning to attend, so I toned it down and took the hint.  Out of the mouth of babes, right?  However, sometimes when one of my children shares a precious bauble of truth me with me, I stubbornly persist in my own thinking.

Are your kids trying to point you to Christ in some way also?  Maybe it’s through talking to you about the words of the music you are listening to, or through the way they hear you speak to their father.  I am not shaming or acting like I am “holier than though,” but I am trying to listen for God’s voice of truth and freedom, regardless of His chosen vessel.  I believe that often God uses children, who are more pure than adults in many ways, to help us find that joy and freedom we seek.  This week and always, as we try to mold our kids, let’s allow them to help us to grow also.

Marriage Mission

Has your husband seemed to slip back into an old familiar sin lately? If you notice him being less patient, more annoyed with the family or his job, or sinking back into an addiction of the past, pray specifically for him this week, and if the Holy Spirit opens up a time of softness between you, then by all means remind him of how Christ gave us the rules in order to keep us away from the bad things that entangle us.  If he is not a believer, or not interested, talk it out with someone who cares about you and your marriage, such as an older mentor, close friend, or a therapist if the issue persists and/or is a serious one.  Don’t handle the hard stuff all by yourself; there is victory in the abundance of counselors (Proverbs 11:14b).

Power Up!

Lord Jesus,

Thank You for loving me even when I fall into sin.  Lord, I remember right now that when You tell me not to sin it is for my good, as well as for Your glory.  Thank you for giving me so many reasons to do the right thing.  Because You tell me You will always provide a way out of temptations, I am free.  I therefore throw off everything from the past and cling to the hope of my Heavenly calling in You.  Help me to fill my thought life with pure and good thoughts, and help me to avoid the pitfalls of sin.  Help my children not to have any generational sins tempt them as a result of the sin in my life, my marriage, or my home.  In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

