Help for the Homeschooling Hero, Week #12 “Seek Wisdom”

“But if any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all generously and without reproach, and it will be given to him.” James 1:5

Help for the Hero

Often, during my days of counseling, I pray this verse before or with my clients, so God will give me His wisdom for the work we do. Wisdom officially means ‘”the quality of having experience, knowledge, and good judgment,’’ and in these moments, I know I need just that. For many of the more crisis-oriented cases, I am desperate for God to show me the best advice to offer. He never let me down, and I am so grateful that I do not have to offer advice on my own strength but am able to use my training, and more importantly, to seek His Word and Holy Spirit for the best counsel for the time.

I’m not sure exactly when I lost sight of this promise in my personal life, but sometime between changing the diapers of my first and second child, I did, and at times, forgot to claim this same verse and the promise of wisdom, when I needed it the most, when I was in the trenches myself! 

Though diapering and nursing, teaching the A B C’s and tying knots can be mindless at times and wearying at others, God still has much wisdom for us in these moments. Sometimes, if you’re anything like me, you can go through the motions of going to church and teaching your children, and forget to welcome the Lord’s promises into your days. 

Thankfully, about two years ago, God began speaking to me more intensely, and shook me out of my biblical complacency. I still struggle with doing a Bible study regularly, and asking God for His wisdom at all of the right times, but I do once again recognize my need for His Word in my life each day, so there is far less of a struggle. 

Today, whether you are at home working or doing multiple jobs to make ends meet, join me in accepting God’s wisdom for this phase of life, too. God still offers you the same wisdom He did before your children took so much of your thought and energy life, and when could you need it more than as teachers of His beloved children? Won’t you, along with me, ask Him for it again, so that you can be sure your family is getting God’s very best?

Aside from your life as teacher, think of a couple of different areas you could really use some wisdom from the Lord. Keep this week’s Bible verse in a spot nearby such as a desk, table, mirror, computer, or kitchen where you prepare for or work on this area of struggle. This will jog your memory to pray for the most generous wisdom you can ever receive instead of just planning for things yourself. 

Kids Can Too!!

Don’t you wish we could teach the kids to learn wisdom in the same way we teach them how to learn handwriting or spelling? It would be sweet to give a written test on wisdom. I actually don’t put it past some of you, since I know homeschool heroes can be pretty creative. However, our children’s’ main gleaning of wisdom will inevitably be through spending quiet time with the Lord, pouring over His Word, and making applications of life through its inspired pages. Specifically, we know that God will also give us wisdom by asking for it through prayer. How, this week and beyond, can you encourage your child(ren) to spend this valuable shaping time? Don’t bombard their schedules with activities and work all day only, but give them time for prayer, maybe even one, two, or three time slots in their day. You could have them recite a famous or family prayer poem at lunch or dinner, or set them up with a cozy blanket and non-messy snack on the couch to read a children’s prayer book, or spend time with a prayer journal. Even an older toddler can be encouraged to pray by offering them a journal and asking them to write a note to God, since God understands their “writing” aka scribbles. We cannot make our children learn wisdom, but we as resourceful mothers, can give them every tool for finding it for themselves. 

Marriage Mission

Since the biblical book of Proverbs is literally known as the biblical book of God’s Wisdom, why not take a month to read the thirty-one Proverbs each night with your husband? If he is willing, take turns reading out of the Bible, and praying for wisdom each night together. Proverbs is a good book to read as a couple, since it brings up a variety of topics. The Proverbs cover specific topics on childrearing, marriage, work difficulties, financial issues, and friendships too, in addition to common marital temptations and sins. I know as a wife, you want to be on the same page in these important areas with your husband, and to know he is learning from God on these important matters of family leadership also. If he is not interested, spend time reading through it yourself, since you will find blessings for the whole family, whether you have a reading partner or not. 

Power Up!

Dear Jesus, 

Please give me the wisdom You so generously promise to me, as I serve this family You have also generously given to me. I want to see my family through Your eyes, and serve them with Your plans in mind. Help me to abandon any selfish motives, and fully carry forward Your wonderful promises forward in our home. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

