Help for the Homeschooling Hero, Week 16 “Eternal Beauty”

“Therefore we do not lose heart.  Though our outward man is decaying, yet our inward man in being renewed day by day.  For momentary light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison.” 2nd Corinthians 4:16-17

 

Help for the Hero

 

            Do you find ever yourself looking at your son or daughters’ flawless young skin and being a bit sad as you notice your own harder and more worn-out features?  Even if you are not the one initiating this, your children may point out the aging process they see in you.  My daughter, who is four, likes to stare at raised mole on the side of my nose and talk about it with wonder from time to time.  She isn’t a huge fan of the mole, doesn’t wanting one herself, and lets me know this in her own innocent way.  I laugh with her about it, but her honesty about the aging process really hits the mark, no pun intended.  She has a natural desire to stay young and healthy, and her mom, still her hero, has evidently seen her glory days!

            In all seriousness, when I think about aging, one of the things I have reminded myself of over the last few years, is that my wrinkles are reminders of my precious years here.  In fact, every line on my face or age spot that will inevitably appear is part of a great victory of a long life – time spent living in God’s precious creation; drinking in good times with my loved ones, achieving accomplishments, watching my children grow, and most importantly, trying to serve the Lord. 

            However, a better way to address the “age” issue we all face is to remember the awesome Bible passage we have this week.  Any fear issues we have with aging, regardless of their cosmetic or disease origin have been lovingly and patiently addressed to us by our Lord.  He promises to restore us inwardly, even though outwardly we begin to fade, so that we can courageously move forward, contributing in our small ways, to our wonderful destiny of eternity with Christ. Then, on that glorious day, all suffering imaginable, all troubles experienced now, and all aging will be seen as light and quick afflictions.  When you see markings of your age, thank God for the time you’ve had thus far, and remember, each new day is one step closer to that wonderful destiny of eternity and full restoration with our Lord!

 

Kids Can Too!

 

            Share a story about yourself as a little girl with your children today, taking care to describe your physical features.  Give full details about what you looked like, or show them pictures, commenting on your youthful skin, hair, or gait.  Talk to them about how you look different now, and how God has blessed you with many experiences that have come through age.  (Ex: “These lines around my eyes are from all of the times I have laughed, watching you play!  I would never trade that.)” Don’t tease and blame them for “making you old” but speak with confidence about your aging process, so that you can model a godly and strong countenance for your children, especially in light of the world around them that is so ashamed of aging.  Most importantly, speak to them about the renewal we will experience in Heaven where we will all be seen in His eyes, without blemish, aging, or disease.

 

Marriage Mission

 

            Is your hubby a handsome hero in your eyes, despite his aging?  If so, tell him!  Is he attracted to you, despite the aging he sees?  Many wives I have spoke to give a resounding “Yes!” when I ask this question, laughing that they find it hard to keep their husband at bay.  If this is you, you are blessed.  Your husband has allowed the rich experiences of life, such as childbirth and aging, to intensify his love for the beautiful heart of his heroic wife by his side (and who’s to say the outside isn’t pretty spectacular too, right?).  If you don’t know the answer to this question, or if you don’t feel beautiful to your husband this week, take heart.  In Proverbs 31, God says that “Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised.”  Keep trying to love God and your family well.  In time, your husband will see this act of love and in the meantime, God’s got you covered with His beautiful promises!

 

Power Up!

 

Dear Lord,

 

            I am so thankful for Your generous reminders to me this week.  I am so sorry that I sometimes fall prey to caring too much about the aging process.  I pray You would help me to maintain any natural outward beauty You have bestowed upon me, but moreover, that my family and I would be more and more beautiful on the inside as we grow toward You.  I pray You would make us healthy and strong, and beautiful to one another, just as You see each of us.  In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

